<span class="highlight">Bucky</span> does a hot lap at Bathurst racetrack!

Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 02:51
ThreadID: 81522 Views:4176 Replies:15 FollowUps:7
Finally got aroound to putting this one on the forum

Hope you like it

Cheres

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 05:49

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 05:49
The trailer cetainly slowed you down............

AnswerID: 431278

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:08

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:08
That's exactly what I wanted to do a couple of years ago, but we didn't get to the track. Onya Bucky!!

AnswerID: 431280

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:11

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:11
Cheers mate that made my morning. :)
Shoulda posted that for Friday Funnies LOL
Thanks Guys.

AnswerID: 431281

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:30

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:30
Yep. I'm off to work with a big smile on my face. Thanks as well. Bob.

FollowupID: 702019

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:19

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 06:19
Good stuff Bucky. That'll put a whole new perspective on the Big Race when we watch it in a couple of weeks time :-)

Fred.
AnswerID: 431282

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:04

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:04
I may even qualify
FollowupID: 702042

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:13

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:13
Loved it Bucky.

Since this is my "other" hobby, please allow me to indulge myself by using this as an excuse to post one of my home video's: Outbacktourer at Bathurst

OBT
AnswerID: 431285

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:19

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:19
When I lived in NSW many, many years ago I was the last private car to travel on the road before it was closed off for the big race in (about) 1975. All the racing signs were around the track and the big trailers were parked in pit lane and the people were starting to come alive on top of the mountain.
I was driving a GT Cortina with a few extra performance options fitted, twin webbers, lumpy cam, modified suspension (down not up) wide wheels & tyres bla bla.
I hammered it and over the 'dippers' was doing just 60 MPH, I was disappointed with my performance, but I was on the limit all the time and loved the experience.

GO HOLDEN :-)
AnswerID: 431286

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:22

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 08:22
Great Video,

I first went there in 1962 and have been going on and off since. I remember when there were no guard rails across Skyline.

But nothing could beat the sound and effects of a Formula 5000 race car across the top of the mountain, the ground would literally shake under you.

I was there the day that Bevin Gibson was killed when he became airborne at the old Hump (where the Chase is now) and when Ron Tombes met his end on his beloved lime green #63 motor cycle.

For interest the grade down through the Dipper is about 1 in 6 so it is quite steep.

You should have gone the other way and see how the Nissan went doing the Hillclimb from the BLCC Clubhouse up to Skyline. Bet you would be struggling in 1st gear.

Here is an interesting video from the World Skateboarding Championships held there last year. A friend from California went over and had a huge wipeout

Skateboarding down the Mountain

AnswerID: 431287

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:42

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:42
That was brilliant, man they are nuts, speaking of they definately have bigger ones then me LOL. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 702099

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:41

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:41
G/Day Bucky

Thanks for the Tour and a Laugh, good job.

AnswerID: 431295

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:42

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:42
PS, GO NISSAN
FollowupID: 702031

Reply By: Fab72 - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:47

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:47
Hells bells...it looks steeper on your video than race cam ever does.

What is the speed limit around there? 40, 60 or 80?
Fab.
AnswerID: 431296

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:03

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:03
60 all the way
Shame I couild only do that down hill

Hehehehehe

Gotta love that
FollowupID: 702041

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:59

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:59
Gday Bucky,

Good work! you had us all on the edge of our seats!!!!!
Bathurst will never be the same. Hahahahahahahahahaha.................

Hairy
AnswerID: 431298

Reply By: Roach"ee" - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 10:47

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 10:47
Good one Bucky... I reckon my big Chev (with the Ultimate hangin off the back) was able to do it in just under 8 minutes..... gotta love the power of a V8...hahahahahaha........
AnswerID: 431299

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:12

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:12
Go the mighty POOOTROL

Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh !

4.2 lts of pure slug

Put ya boot into her and she just "growls" louder, don't go any faster but ....

FollowupID: 702043

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 14:19

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 14:19
Ya might have been a bit slower than the V8's, Bucky... but at least you had pole position.!

cheers Unc
AnswerID: 431316

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 16:19

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 16:19
BLOODY HOON.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 431323

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 18:16

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 18:16
Did the same thing last year, but my ute with camper was a minute or two slower. we had a similar conversation as to your commentary. Its amazing that they do it as fast as they do when you know what the track is acturally like, great video and some memories.

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 431338

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:36

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 00:36
Understand the new formula rules for the Bathurst 1,000 Klm race in 2012 will allow for various manufactures, not just HOLDEN and the furds :)

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 431367

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 05:58

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 05:58
Do ya mean "Nissan Patrols" too ?

I heading there '
FollowupID: 702173